Part of Life

Reblogged from “Overseas“, by Jenna Clements

I think if anyone who goes into ministry thinking that they are going to make a difference is crazy. Ministry is full of problems. Ministry exists because of problems…aka sin! There is absolutely no way that any one of us can cure everybody’s problems. I see people try and as they put all the effort into fixing a problem they are often dissatisfied with the minimal results.  Sometimes I ask myself why do we even try? 

Our lives are suppose to reflect Jesus, correct? When Jesus came to earth He did not go around healing every crippled, sick, dying person He saw. I believe that Jesus prayed for each one He saw, but He did not heal everyone.  Jesus healed only a few out of countless people needing physical healing. You’re probably thinking well that’s not the reason why Jesus came to earth. And you’re right, I agree with you! He believed living a perfect life and reflecting Christ was more important than curing physical needs. I have to be careful how I say this, because I do think that Jesus does want us to help those who have physical needs. However, I believe that Jesus wants us to, first, live a life reflecting Jesus Christ and that love and passion will overflow into the way we minister to those around us. We try because our actions are rooted in our love for Christ and our sorry attempts at living a life reflecting Jesus.

I want to leave you with what I read this morning in “Jesus Calling”. I think it rings true for a lot of those around me, as well as myself:

“Problems are part of life. They are inescapable, woven into the very fabric of this fallen world. You tend to go into problem-solving mode all too readily, acting as if you have the capacity to fix everything.  This is a habitual response, so automatic that it bypasses your conscious thinking. Not only does this habit frustrate you, it also distances you from Me.
Do not let fixing things be your top priority. You are ever so limited in your capacity to correct all that is wrong in the world around you. Don’t weigh yourself down with responsibilities that are not your own. Instead, make your relationship with Me your primary concern. Talk with Me about whatever is on your mind, seeking My perspective on the situation. Rather than trying to fix everything that comes to your attention, ask Me to show you what is truly important. Remember that you are en route to heaven, and let your problems fade in the Light of eternity.”

Leave a Reply

